About Us / Intro

LVSWSB is one of the eight Water Services Boards (WSBs) established under Section 51 of the Water Act 2002; vide Gazette Notice No. 1714 of 12th March 2004. The mandate of LVSWSB is to be responsible for efficient and economical provision of water and sanitation services within its area of jurisdiction with different roles and responsibilities as authorized by the Water Services Provision License and mandated by Section 53(1) of the Water Act 2002.

 LVSWSB covers an area of 21,904.1 km2 comprising of 53 Sub-Counties within the following ten Counties: Bomet, Kisumu, Homa Bay, Migori, Siaya, Kisii, Nyamira, Kericho, and Parts of Narok and Nandi. The population covered is approx. 8.8M comprising approx. 6.6M rural and 2.2M urban. There are over 20 major water and sanitation facilities developed by the Board and over five hundred (500) water supply schemes spread across rural and urban areas, majority of which are community operated schemes.



“To be a national leader in developing sustainable water and sanitation infrastructure for provision of safe, clean water and dignified sanitation for all”



“To develop sustainable infrastructure, provide technical assistance and capacity building for provision of adequate water and sanitation services to improve quality of life”





LVSWSB has competent staff who will act professionally in discharging their duties by being reliable and supportive to its agenda.



All stakeholders and staff of LVSWSB will be treated equitably without discrimination and equal opportunities given to all.



LVSWSB will be accountable for its activities, accept responsibility for them and disclose information to stakeholders in a transparent manner



LVSWSB will discharge its duties with honesty, transparency and have consistent moral and ethical standards.



Ensure all employees combine their individual skills and work together to deliver the mandate of LVSWSB.




The current Mandate of the Board is “provision of efficient and economical water and sanitation within its area of jurisdiction as authorized by the Water Services Provision License and mandated by Section 53(1) of the Water Act 2002”


Arising from the mandate, main functions of the Board are:


  • Undertake development, maintenance, and management of national public water works within our area of jurisdiction.
  • Own and manage water related assets
  • Collaboration with all stakeholders both within and outside water sector to mobilize finances and provide related social infrastructure.
  • Provide technical services and capacity building to county governments and water service providers.
  • Provide the Cabinet secretary in charge of water with technical support in the discharge of his/her functions.
  • Provide reserve capacity for purposes of providing water services where need arises.

Our Partners





Lavictors House,
Off Ring road Milimani


P.O. BOX 3325-40100,

Email Us


Call Us

(+254) 057-2025128
(+254) 057-2025127

Follow Us